One could be tempted into thinking that the days of rejection were over simply because the decision to self-publish had been made.

If that were the case that person would be quite wrong if they opted to choose the eBook format only. I’m sure it’s also difficult if they individual  had a traditionally printed book, but I cannot speak to that… only the difficulties experienced trying to get noticed with an eBook.

I am told that the dynamics of the publishing industry change on a regular basis and so I do my due diligence to learn about the industry that I’m trying to hard to enter.

Rejection, it would appear has become such a standard for me that when things automatically go through I have become a little gun-shy and leery of the small successes.

If I look at “A Blood Moon” this eBook was professionally formatted with the appropriate metadata and has its ISBN-13. There are levels of eBook; those developed with the Amazon CreateSpace or Barnes&Noble PubIT!  .and those that are uploaded to Amazon and Barnes&Noble by the author being considered a small publisher. I mention all of that to say this. I attempted to get on the Borders.com distribution listing and I was transferred to a small company called KOBO. They couldn’t accept my eBook because as a small publisher I didn’t have enough titles to list with them. Ten (10) is a nice round number I hear that the folks there are looking for.

There also seems to be a misunderstanding about the fact that Amazon assigns the eBook an ASIN. As a matter of fact Amazon only displays the ASIN, but it is not the only identification number for that eBook. After all, ASIN means nothing more than Amazon Standard Identification Number. A reader’s service who didn’t understand what an ASIN was sent me an invite and then declined it once they learned I only had an eBook format. 

That was rather interesting as I thought being new to the industry meant that I knew very little, but perhaps it just means that I am not predisposed by how things were and my research of how things are keeps me current. Who knows?

Don’t feel discouraged, if distributors other than Amazon, Apple, and Barnes&Noble are on your agenda you can use firms like Smashwords et al. that will help you get your content listed and take a pretty penny in doing so.

As an author if you are determined to continue down the highroad of self-publishing  without the assistance of a marketing team, then you may have to dig deep and persevere.

Don’t judge my book by its format! Let its content speak for itself.

The root cause of the problem lies in the fact that creating an eBook is becoming easier and easier. No one really has to review the content, an ISBN is not really needed because of the tools that are available, and at least one means of distribution is immediately available by the company that assisted in the creation of the eBook. These are the types of eBooks that the industry wonders about.  So rather than figure out if the eBook was developed properly (Written, revised, edited, reviewed, converted, and  then published) the entire eBook category is frowned upon.  It must be alright for a traditionally published book to have an accompanying eBook, but not to have an eBook that stands on its own.

What happened to the statistics that discuss the growing corner of the market for readers going digital. They supposedly are repeated offenders buying more eBooks per annum that the traditional reader procures the printed counterpart.

Oh well, I don’t suppose all avenues are ready to embrace it all and I’m in no rush. There’s a much longer limit to the virtual bookshelf than there is to the traditional bookshelf.

I love going on Amazon to see the words… “those who bought A Blood Moon by Bitten Twice also bought…”  I doubt ABM will ever see print… but who knows. One day I might give in.

